No.A-12024/6/2014-E-I Government of India Ministry of Road Transport & Highways (Establishment-I Section)

New Delhi, the 3rd July, 2017

OFFICE ORDER No.112/2017

In continuation of this Ministry's Office Order No.04/2017 (A-12024/6/2014-E-I) dated 9.1.2017, it has been decided with the approval of the Competent Authority in the Ministry of Road Transport &Highways to extend the engagement of Shri S.D. Banga (Retired Director of CSS) as Secretary to the Road Safety Committee constituted in the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways under the Chairpersonship of Justice Mr. K.S. Radhakrishnan, Hon'ble Supreme Court of India in pursuance of the orders dated 22.4.2014 passed by Hon'ble Supreme Court of India in Writ Petition No.295/of 2012 filed by Dr. S. Rajaseekaran V/s Union of India, for a further period of 6 months from 01.07.2017 to 31.12.2017 or till the existence of the Committee or till further orders, whichever is the earliest, on the following terms and conditions:-

- i) His engagement as Secretary to the Road Safety Committee (RSC) will be on full time basis for a further period of six month w.e.f. 01.07.2017 to 31.12.2017 or till the existence of the Committee or until further orders whichever is the earliest. The engagement will however be at the pleasure of the Chairperson of the Committee and liable to be terminated any time without assigning any reasons thereof.
- ii) Duties and Responsibilities:- He will serve as the Secretary to the Road Safety Committee and provide all necessary assistance as required by the Committee in discharging its duties and responsibilities.
- iii) His engagement as Consultant on contract basis will further be governed by the instructions contained in the Department of Personnel & Training's O.M. No.16012/7/1997-Estt (Allowances) dated 13.2.1998.
- iv) <u>Remuneration:-</u> Fee and local Conveyance:- He will be paid a consolidated fee of Rs. 55,000/- plus local conveyance allowance of Rs.5,000/- per month.
- v) He will not be entitled to any other facilities/allowances such as DA/HRA/Transport Allowance, CGHS, Medical reimbursement, Leave, Transport facility, Accommodation from Central Government pool, reimbursement of tuition fee in respect of children or any other relief.
- vi) <u>Leave:-</u> He shall be eligible for 8 days leave in a calendar year on pro-rata basis. He will not be entitled to draw any remuneration for any absence beyond 8 days in a year (calculated on a pro-rata basis). Also un-availed leave in a calendar year shall not be carry forward to next calendar year. The Ministry should be free to terminate the services in case of absence of a "Consultant" by more than 15 days beyond the entitled leave in a calendar year.
- vii) <u>TA/DA</u>: No TA/DA shall be admissible for joining the assignment or on its completion. He will not be allowed any foreign travel at Government expenses. However, he shall be

allowed TA/DA for his travel inside the country in connection with the functioning of the Committee as per existing TA/DA rules applicable to retired Government Employees. His entitlement of TA/DA will be based on the post held by him immediately before his retirement from Government Service.

- viii) For the above duties, he will report to Chairperson, Road Safety Committee.
- ix) <u>Library Facilities:-</u> He shall have access to the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways library during the period of his engagement as Secretary to RSC and shall be allowed to borrow books and as per the Library Rules.
- x) He will not take up any other assignment during the period of his engagement as Secretary to the Committee without prior approval of the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways.

2. The expenditure involved is debitable under the Major Head '3451'-Secretariat, Economic Service, 00.090-Secretariat (Minor Head), 11-Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, 11.01-Road Transport Wing, 11.01.01-Salaries under Demand No.81 (Non-Plan) for the year 2017-18.

3. This issues with the approval of Finance Wing vide their U.O. No.580/TF-II dated 15.6.2017.

(Rajinder Kumar) Under Secretary to the Government of India

Copy to:--

- 1. Shri S.D. Banga, Secretary, Road Safety Committee, Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 2. Chairperson, Road Safety Committee, Vigyan Bhvan, New Delhi.
- 3. Sr. PPS to Secretary (RT&H).
- 4. PPS to AS&FA/PPS to DG(RD)/PPS to ADG/PPS to JS(T)/PPS to JS(H)/PPS to JS(LA & EIC)/PPS to JS(TC & GAP)/Director(Vigilance)/ Director (RTI, O&M &IT)/Deputy Secretary (Establishment & LA)/Secretary (General).
- 5. Director (RS)/Under Secretary (RS)/ Road Safety Cell.
- 6. Pay & Accounts Officer, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways.
- 7. Cash Section, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways.
- 8. TF-II Section, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways.
- 9. General Section/Vigilance Section/RTI Section/Parliament Section/Coordination Section/O&M Section/Library/NIC.
- 10. Office Order Folder.